Webcasts

Watch the May 2022 Total Lunar Eclipse: Super Blood Moon Webcasts

The moon will pass through Earth’s shadow during a total lunar eclipse on the night of May 15-16, the first blood moon of 2022, but if bad weather spoils your view, you’ll have the option to watch it in live online.

This will give you a chance to watch the full Flower Moon experience a total lunar eclipse as the moon moves into Earth’s shadow. The eclipse will be visible in full phase from parts of the Americas, Antarctica, Europe, Africa and the Eastern Pacific. A penumbral eclipse (where the edge of Earth’s shadow will fall on the moon) is visible in New Zealand, Eastern Europe and the Middle East.

Related: May 2022 Total Lunar Eclipse: Flower Blood Moon Guide

A visibility map of the Super Blood Moon total lunar eclipse from May 15-16, 2022. (Image credit: NASA Science Visualization Studio)

While the timing depends on where you’re looking at the sky, TimeandDate.com says the partial eclipse phase of the lunar eclipse begins May 15 at 10:28 p.m. EDT (0228 GMT May 16). It will reach the red peak of the Blood Moon on May 16 at 12:11 a.m. EDT (0411 GMT). Then, the event ends at 1:55 a.m. EDT (05:55 GMT). Note that the penumbral eclipse will start about an hour earlier and end about an hour after the partial eclipse.

Eclipse scientist Fred Espenak listed the May 15 full moon as a so-called supermoon, in which the full moon is at perigee (closest to Earth for the month), making it a Super eclipse. Blood Moon.

Read on to learn more about the webcasts we’ve found so far, but be aware that they’re all subject to good weather at their respective viewing sites. We’ll add more as they’re announced, so check back as we get closer to the event.

If you’re hoping to photograph the moon or want to prepare your gear for the total lunar eclipse, check out our best cameras for astrophotography and our best lenses for astrophotography. Read our guides on how to photograph a lunar eclipse, as well as how to photograph the moon with a camera for some helpful tips for planning your lunar photo shoot.

NASA Science Blood Moon Live Webcast

NASA’s YouTube Science Live broadcast, which you can also see above, will begin at 9:32 p.m. on May 15 (0132 GMT on May 16).

“Join NASA experts to learn more about this incredible natural phenomenon, look through telescope views around the world, and learn about plans to bring humans back to the lunar surface with the Artemis program,” said the agency in a description. “Have questions? Ask them in our live chat.”

Slooh Flower Moon Lunar Eclipse Webcast

Remote-controlled online telescope astronomy service Slooh will host its own webcast, which you can also watch above on YouTube, starting May 15 at 9:30 p.m. EDT (May 16, 0130 GMT).

“Online telescope experts will be on hand to explain this spectacular view from the beginning of the penumbral phase, through the partial phase, and then the beautiful full phase which lasts 1 hour and 19 minutes,” Slooh said.

While this show is open to everyone, a members-only Star Party is also available on Discord after all. You can learn how to subscribe to Slooh to register on the Slooh.com website.

Total Lunar Eclipse Webcast from TimeandDate.com

Time zone website TimeandDate.com will host its own YouTube broadcast, also available below, which begins at 10 p.m. EDT on May 15 (02:00 GMT on May 16). Live chat will be available during the eclipse.

“Our live coverage is your perfect companion for this eclipse, whether it’s visible from your location or not. Follow the eclipse from start to finish with us here,” the company said.

TimeandDate.com has a special Blood Moon May 2022 page for the lunar eclipse, where the site shares viewing tips and other information.

Webcast of the Total Lunar Eclipse from Griffith Observatory

The famed Griffith Observatory in Los Angeles will host a live lunar eclipse viewing party on May 15 in its own blood moon webcast from the historic observatory.

The observatory’s webcast will begin at 10:35 p.m. EDT (02:35 GMT) and continue until 3:50 a.m. EDT (07:50 GMT), according to the observatory. If you’re based in the Pacific time zone, that’s 7:35-11:50 p.m. On Tuesday, May 16, Griffith Observatory will share a time-lapse video of the lunar eclipse on its YouTube channel .

Virtual Telescope Super Moon Total Eclipse Webcast

The Online Virtual Telescope Project will host a Total Supermoon Eclipse webcast at 9:15 p.m. EDT (02:15 GMT) with views from across the visibility region.

Project astrophysicist Gianluca Masi will host the eclipse from Ceccano, Italy. You can follow it live on the Project’s YouTube page or directly from the event’s broadcast site.

The webcast will include the following imagers and astrophotographers, according to Masi:

  • astrophotographer: Gianluca Masi (Rome, Italy);
  • astrophotographer: John W. Johnson (Nebraska, USA)
  • astrophotographer: Joaquin Fabrega Polleri (Panama);
  • astrophotographer: Chris Curwin (Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada);
  • astrophotographer: Fernando Rodriguez (Florida, USA);
  • astrophotographer: Jim Thompson (Ottawa Valley Astronomy & Observers Group, Canada);
  • astrophotographer: Gary Varney (Florida, USA);
  • astrophotographer: Karim Jaffer (Montreal Centre, Royal Astronomical Society of Canada);
  • coordinator and live commentary: astrophysicist Gianluca Masi (The Virtual Telescope Project, Italy).

Editor’s note: If you take a great lunar eclipse photo (or your own eclipse webcast) and want to share it with Space.com readers, please submit your photo(s), comments, and your name and location to [email protected]

Follow Elizabeth Howell on Twitter @howellspace. Follow us on twitter @Spacedotcom and on Facebook.