Webcasts

‘Super Flower Blood Moon’ Webcasts: How to Watch the 2021 Super Moon Eclipse Online

Editor’s Note: The Super Flower Blood Moon lunar eclipse has thrilled astronomers around the world and has come to an end. See photos, videos and more in our wrap story here.


Super Flower Blood Moon Eclipse

The total lunar eclipse of January 20-21, 2019, captured by astrophotographers Imelda Joson and Edwin Aguirre from suburban Boston.  Left to Right: The Beginning of Total, 11:41 PM EST January 20;  the middle of the totality, at 12:12 am on January 21;  and the end of the whole at 00:44

(Image credit: courtesy of Imelda Joson and Edwin Aguirre)

If you take a photo of the 2021 total lunar eclipse, let us know! You can send images and comments to [email protected].

Wednesday’s full moon (May 26) will be something to see, as the only 2021 total lunar eclipse arrives with the biggest “super moon” of the year.

Sky watchers in much of the world will have the chance to see a slightly larger than average full moon temporarily appearing in red during the so-called “Super Flower Blood Moon”. But for those in areas of the world where the eclipse is not visible – or where clouds outsmart the view – there will be several free webcasts showing live views of the eclipse online.

During the Flower Blood Super Moon, the May Full Moon (known as the Flower Moon) will pass through Earth’s shadow, causing it to appear red. This is why total lunar eclipses are commonly referred to as “blood moons”. At around the same time, the moon will reach perigee, or the closest point to Earth in its current orbit. This will make it appear slightly larger than an average full moon, which will also make it a “super moon”.

Super Flower Blood Moon 2021: When and How to See the Total Lunar Eclipse

Griffith Observatory

Weather permitting, the Griffith Observatory in Los Angeles plans to broadcast live views of the Super Flower Blood Moon on Wednesday, May 26 from 4:45 am EDT (8:45 am GMT) – just two minutes before the start of the penumbral phase of the lunar eclipse. The broadcast will end at 9:00 a.m. EDT (1:00 p.m. GMT), shortly after the last partial phase of the eclipse ends.

You can watch the Griffith Observatory live webcast in the window above, courtesy of the Observatory, or connect via Youtube. Due to the ongoing pandemic, the observatory said on his website that he will not be hosting an in-person public event for this eclipse as he has done in the past.

Lowell Observatory

The Lowell Observatory – where the famous dwarf planet Pluto was discovered – will also broadcast live views of the eclipse from multiple telescopes at its facilities in Flagstaff, Arizona.

From 5:30 a.m. EDT (9:30 a.m. GMT), “Lowell educators will show you live views of the eclipse through our 14-inch Planewave telescope and Vixen portable wide-view telescopes,” the observatory said in a press release. “Educators will also discuss the science of eclipses, the best ways to see them, Lowell’s story with the Moon and more!”

This event ends at 7:25 a.m. EDT (11:25 GMT). You can watch it live in the window above, courtesy of Lowell Observatory, or on Youtube.

European Space Agency

The European Space Agency (ESA) will live stream a live broadcast of the Super Flower Blood Moon also starting at 5:30 a.m. EDT (9:30 a.m. GMT). The ESA webcast lasts two hours, ending about five minutes after the full phase of the eclipse ends.

Since the total lunar eclipse will not be visible from Europe, the webcast will show live video views of the moon from CSIRO (the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organization, Australia’s national science agency) as well as the ESA Deep Space Tracking Facility in New Norcia, Western Australia.

ESA’s live eclipse program “will explain the basic science behind a lunar eclipse and highlight ESA’s ambitious plans for the next decade of space exploration, including the Orion service module, the gateway for deep space, high-speed communication, an orbiter data relay network and the cutting-edge technology needed to support sustainable exploration on and under the lunar surface, ”agency officials said in a press release.

Several astronomers, scientists, engineers and other experts from Europe and Australia will comment live during ESA webcast, comprising:

  • Suzy Jackson, Director of New Norcia Station, CSIRO
  • Ines Belgacem, planetologist, ESA
  • Malcolm Davidson, ESA Earth Sciences and Missions Division
  • Juergen Schlutz, Head of ESA Lunar Strategy
  • Elodie Viau, Director of Telecommunications at ESA
  • Loredana Bessone, ESA Astronaut Trainer
  • Gianfranco Vicente, Head of Automation and Robotics at ESA
  • James Carpenter, Exploration Sciences Coordinator, ESA
  • Karen Lee-Waddell, Director of the Australian Square Kilometer Array (SKA) Regional Center

You can watch ESA’s Super Flower Blood Moon webcast live here on ESA Web TV or on the ESA website.

The virtual telescope project

The Virtual telescope project, an online observatory founded by astrophysicist Gianluca Masi of the Bellatrix Astronomical Observatory in Italy, will broadcast two live broadcasts of the great lunar event: one for the eclipse and another for the super moon. Astrophysicist Gianluca Masi, founder of the Virtual Telescope Project, will comment live.

First, on Wednesday (May 26), the virtual telescope will webcast live views of the lunar eclipse, from 6 a.m. EDT (1000 GMT). The webcast will feature photos from astrophotographers from Australia, New Zealand and the Americas. The moon sets in Rome at 5:34 a.m. local time, or 14 minutes before the time of the maximum eclipse, so the best views will come from these remote cameras.

Then to 3:00 p.m. EDT (7:00 p.m. GMT), Masi returns with a second live broadcast to show the biggest super moon of the year rising above Rome’s skyline. You can watch both events live in the window above, thanks to the Virtual Telescope Project, or directly via Masi’s YouTube channel.

Time and date

Time & Date, an interactive website that offers a variety of tools to observe the sky and time zone conversions, will also provide a live webcast of the Super Flower Blood Moon, from 5:30 a.m. EDT (9:30 a.m. GMT). The webcast will feature live views from around the world, and you can follow the adventures of the photographers in this live blog.

You can watch it live here in the window above, courtesy of the time and date, or directly via Youtube. Also, to know what the eclipse will look like from any location, be sure to check the time and date. eclipse maps and calculators.

Stages of the “Super Flower Blood Moon” lunar eclipse on May 26, 2021
Event Time
Beginning of the penumbral lunar eclipse 4:47 am EDT (0847 GMT)
The partial eclipse begins 5:44 am EDT (0944 GMT)
The complete eclipse begins 7:11 a.m. EDT (1111 GMT)
Maximum eclipse 7:18 a.m. EDT (11:18 a.m. GMT)
The complete eclipse ends 7:25 a.m. EDT (11:25 a.m. GMT)
The partial eclipse ends 8:52 am EDT (1252 GMT)
The penumbral lunar eclipse ends 9:49 a.m. EDT (1349 GMT)

Editor’s Note: This article has been updated to include the ESA webcast.

Email Hanneke Weitering at [email protected] or follow her on Twitter @hannekescience. Follow us on twitter @Spacedotcom and on Facebook.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *