Webcasts

Lecture Series webcasts begin January 10 | News

LYNDEN – January’s award-winning lecture and cultural arts series returns to Lynden of Calvin University.

The Third Reformed Christian Church on Sixth and Liberty Streets will host webcasts on weekdays at 9:30 a.m. January 10-28 in its basement assembly room (entrance at Sixth Exit).

The 2022 lineup includes New York Times bestselling authors, a renowned theologian, a four-star general and a popular public television host.

The series, which celebrates its 35th anniversary, aims to enlighten and enrich audiences by engaging with some of the culture creators of our time.

• Monday January 10, Angela Williams Gorrell, teacher and author, “The Gravity of Joy”

• Tuesday January 11, L. Gregory Jones, author, Christian leader and social innovator, “Trusting Institutions: Rediscovering the Power of Christian’s Surprise”

• Wednesday January 12, Sarah Stewart Holland and Beth Silvers, podcasters and popular writers on opposite sides of the political spectrum, “Keeping the nuances: How to have graceful political discussions”

• Thursday January 13, Reuben Miller, sociologist and criminologist, “Halfway Home: Race, Punishment and the Afterlife of Mass Incarceration”

• Friday January 14, Rick Steves, public television host and author of the guide, “Why Travel Makes Us Better Global Citizens” (virtual presentation)

• Monday January 17, LaTasha Morrison, certified trainer in cultural intelligence and unconscious prejudices, “Be the Bridge: Pursuing God’s Heart for Racial Reconciliation”

• Tuesday January 18, Max Stossel, Former Media Strategist and Social Media Worker, “We’ve Sneaked Into Your Brain: The Real Impact of Social Media”

• Wednesday January 19, Admiral James Stavridis, former Supreme Commander of the NATO Alliance, “Geopolitical security issues in a world undergoing technological change”

• Thursday January 20, Colum McCann, international bestselling author, “Making Peace with Stories”

• Friday January 21, NT (Tom) Wright, prominent New Testament scholar, “Galatians in three dimensions”

• Monday January 24, G. Sujin Pak, teacher and researcher in biblical interpretation, “Struggling with the word: biblical interpretation through the history of the Church”

• Tuesday January 25, Simply Three, string trio composed of Glen McDaniel, Nick Villalobos and Zack Clark, in concert and conversation

• Wednesday January 26, Colonel Nicole Malachowski, 21 year veteran of the US Air Force and first female pilot of the Thunderbirds squadron, “Harnessing Headwinds of Change”

• Thursday January 27, Brad Montague, creator of the hit web series Kid President, “Becoming Better Grownups”

• Friday January 28, Gary Schmidt, retired English teacher and author of children’s literature and young adult fiction, “In the Tangles of Our Minds: Why Stories Move Us”


Source link