Webcasts

How To See The “Super Pink Moon” Online In Live Webcasts Today


A “pink super moon” will rise in the evening sky today (April 7) and you can watch it online with webcasts from The Virtual Telescope Project and Slooh.

Tonight’s super moon – named after a pink wildflower, Phlox subulata – will be the full moon closest to 2020. The moon reaches perigee, or the closest point to Earth in its elliptical orbit, at 2:08 pm EDT (1808 GMT). At that time, the Moon will be 221,905 miles (357,122 kilometers) from Earth, compared to its average distance of 240,000 miles (384,400 km). The moon will officially become full approximately 8.5 hours after reaching perigee at 10:35 p.m. EDT (02:35 GMT April 8).

Super moons, or full moons that coincide with the perigee of the moon, appear about 7% larger and 15% brighter than the average full moon. However, the difference may not be noticeable to the casual observer. To get a closer look at tonight’s pink super moon, and to learn more about the science and history of this special moon-watching event, two online observatories are now offering free webcasts.

Video: Super pink moon? The astronomer explains what it is
Related:
April’s pink super moon is the biggest full moon of 2020. Here’s what to expect.

The virtual telescope project

The virtual telescope project, an online observatory founded by astrophysicist Gianluca Masi from the Bellatrix Astronomical Observatory in Ceccano, Italy, will broadcast live views of the pink super moon rising above Rome from 1:30 p.m. EDT (5:30 p.m. GMT). You can watch it live in the window above, thanks to the Virtual Telescope Project, or directly via its Youtube channel.

“Looking up at the sky as we all over the planet battle COVID-19 is a precious source of beauty and strength, ideally connecting us all with the cosmos we live in,” Masi said in a statement. declaration. “You are welcome to securely join our free live webcast from the comfort of your home. ”

“We will watch our satellite rise above the skyline of Rome, the Eternal City, enjoying the biggest full moon of the year,” he added. “All of this while we celebrate in April 2020 World Astronomy Month, the world’s largest celebration of astronomy: this event is part of the international happening. “

Slooh

A comparison of the apparent size of a perigee moon, or “super moon,” and an apogee moon (“mini-moon”) seen through Slooh’s half-meter telescope at his observatory of the Canary Islands in 2015. (Image credit: Slooh)

Later today, the Slooh Online Observatory will host another live webcast of the Super Pink Moon.

Slooh’s webcast will begin 7:30 p.m. EDT (11:30 p.m. GMT), and you can watch it live here on Space.com, courtesy of Slooh, or directly via Slooh’s YouTube channel.

Slooh astronomer Paul Cox and his team of experts and educators, including acclaimed astronomy writer Bob Berman, will discuss the science and history of the super moon while showing live views from the telescopes de Slooh at the Institute of Astrophysics of the Canary Islands and Chile.

Editor’s Note: If you have an amazing super moon photo that you would like to share for a possible story or image gallery, you can send images and comments to [email protected]

Email Hanneke Weitering at [email protected] or follow her @hannekescience. Follow us on twitter @Spacedotcom and on Facebook.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.